Peck Prize

Increase font size
Decrease font size

Each year the Department of Religious Studies awards one graduate student teaching assistant a departmental award for superior performance in the classroom. Students who have served as a TA in the Department in any of the 3 calendar years preceding the nomination are eligible. Faculty may submit individual nomination letters for no more than one student per year.

Recent Peck Prize Awardees:

2023 Bryce McCormick

2022 Zara Surratt

2021 Emily Branton

2020 Ehsan Sheikholharam

2019 Jocelyn Burney

2018 Miguel Vargas

2017 Joanna Smith (Sierks)

2016 Luke Drake

2015 Brian Coussens

2014 Leonard Lowe

The William Peck Prize is funded by the William Peck Fund for Graduate Student Excellence.

The Professor William Peck Fund for Graduate Student Excellence honors the decades of contribution to UNC Chapel Hill by the much-loved Prof. Peck, and it funds an award each year for a graduate student in our department who excels in the undergraduate classroom.